Legal Defense for Your Future Proudly Representing Clients in the Charlottesville area CONTACT US TODAY
What Are the Punishments for A Class 2 Misdemeanor in Virginia?
Feb. 20, 2017
The punishment for Class 2 misdemeanors can be found in Virginia Code 18.2-11.:
Up to 6 months in jail, and
Up to a $1,000 fine
One other thing to know about Class 2 misdemeanors: once you've been convicted, they are permanently on your criminal record. Currently, there's no way to have a criminal conviction expunged from your record in Virginia unless the Governor pardons you. That means when you're charged with a misdemeanor, you're facing a lifetime criminal record if you're convicted. That's why it's important to seek legal advice as soon as you can.
Some Common Class 2 Misdemeanors in Virginia:
1. Driving without a license
2. Second offense Refusal to submit to a breath or blood test
3. Possession of a scheduled IV controlled substance