Punishments for Reckless Driving
Reckless driving is a class 1 misdemeanor. That means it's punishable by up to 12 months in jail and a $2,500 fine. If you're convicted of reckless driving a judge can also suspend your license for up to 6 months. One of the most important consequences of a conviction for reckless driving is a permanent criminal conviction. If you're convicted of reckless driving in Virginia, it is a permanent criminal conviction. It cannot be expunged, ever.
Am I going to jail?
It depends on the place you got your ticket. Some places in Virginia begin imposing jail time at 90 miles per hour. Some places wait to impose jail time until you're clocked at 100 miles per hour or more. Your driving record will also play a role in what punishment you receive. If you've already been convicted of reckless driving or have a lot of speeding tickets on your record, the punishment will be more severe.
If the judge suspends my license, can I get a restricted license?
Maybe. A restricted license allows you to drive to work, school, doctor's appointments, and other necessary things. Whether you can get a restricted license will simply depend on the judge. An attorney will be able to advise you about your chances for getting a restricted license.
Please call me now for a free consultation about your reckless driving case.