Reckless Driving in Virginia
The most common form of reckless driving in Virginia is reckless driving by speed. What most states consider speeding, Virginia considers reckless driving. In Virginia, anytime you are going over 80 miles per hour, regardless of the speed limit, you can be charged with reckless driving. In addition, anytime you are going 20 miles per hour or more above the speed limit, you can be convicted of reckless driving.
What are the consequences of reckless driving in Virginia?
There are many consequences of being convicted of reckless driving in Virginia. If you're convicted, you will have a permanent criminal conviction. Reckless driving is a class 1 misdemeanor in Virginia. If you're convicted you could also be sentenced to jail. You could have your license suspended. Your insurance rates will also likely increase.
How many points is a reckless driving conviction?
You'll get six points on your Virginia driving record for a DUI conviction. Most speeding tickets are three or four points.
Do I need an attorney for my reckless driving charge?
It depends. If you're charged with going over 90 miles per hour, you should hire an attorney. If you're charged with going 30 miler per hour over the speed limit, you should also probably hire an attorney. That's because many judges in Virginia will consider jail time at speeds of over 90 mph or 30+ the speed limit. There's no guarantee that an attorney will be able to save you from jail time, but at least you'll have someone by your side to inform and advise you.
Even if you're charged with going less than 90 miles per hour or less than 30 over the speed limit, it can be useful to hire an attorney. At the very least, you should consult with an attorney to get an honest opinion.
Frequently Asked Questions
- Do I have to come to court if I get a reckless driving ticket in Virginia?
- What are the possible punishments for reckless driving?
- What can I do before court to prepare for my reckless driving case?
- If I'm convicted of reckless driving, how do I get it off my record?
- How much should I pay for a reckless driving attorney?